top of page

MLPC Book Club: Mindful of Race by Ruth King


Join Emily and The MLPC Book Club in reading July book, Mindful of Race: Understanding and Transforming Habits of Harm by Ruth King. Join our free meeting that will be on the Last Saturday of this month, July 31st at 5:30PM Abu Dhabi (9:30AM Toronto / 2:30PM UK).


"In a moment of racial tension, have you ever tried to simply “shrug off?” your outrage? Or put on a pleasant face so that others wouldn’t feel uncomfortable? Or dared to take a stand—only to find that it inflamed the situation? With Mindful of Race, Ruth King offers another option:


To tend first to our suffering, listen to what it is trying to teach us, and direct its energies most effectively for change.


Drawing on her expertise as both a meditation teacher and diversity consultant, King supports readers of all backgrounds with an abundance of insights and guided practices to help us identify our misperceptions, honor and engage with our most challenging emotions, temper them with compassionate forgiveness, and find the optimal course of wise action." goodreads.com



15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page